The Nobel Peace Prize 2021

December 10 2021

On 10 December, the Nobel Peace Prize 2021 was awarded jointly to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their courageous efforts to safeguard freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.

Dmitry Muratov is editor of the dissident newspaper Novaya Gazeta, winner of the Free Media Award in 2002. Since 2006, the Fritt Ord Foundation has awarded this important press prize together with the ZEIT Foundation as a demonstration of support to journalists, newspapers and web-based media in Russia and Eastern Europe that refuse to give up in spite of reprisals, harassment and financial difficulties.
Read more about the Free Media Awards here.

The Fritt Ord Foundation extends its congratulations to this year’s prize laureates!
Read more about the Nobel Peace Prize awarded to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov on The Nobel Institute’s website.